How to redact content when managing cases
*NOTE- Redaction is a special privilege that must be enabled on the user account level. Please contact us if you would like to have redaction capabilities enabled. We recommend limiting the number of users who have access to redaction due to the finality of the feature, i.e. data is deleted and cannot be recovered.
Redaction was introduced to help with GDPR regulations and privacy needs by an individual and/or organization. When logged is as an Administrator or Moderator, you will be able to utilize the steps below to redact content as needed.
When viewing a case's details, on the right side of the screen, you will see a new option next to Export/Print titled REDACT that you will click to open the Redaction Editor.
On the Redaction Editor, you will be able to redact a number of different fields, including Attachments, based on the request or needs presented by the individual or organization.
1. You can check the box to the left of the item for FULL REDACTION
2. You can use your mouse to highlight content within a specific text field for TARGETED REDACTION
3. Clicking the Undo arrow removes the redaction. Clicking the Eye icon will open a window showing all the content without redaction to ensure you are selecting the appropriate content to be redacted.
Once you have completed your redaction selections, click the 'Commit Redacted Fields' button at the bottom of the page.
You will be prompted with a confirmation window, as redactions cannot be undone. You will need to select either the Cancel option, or choose 'Yes, Commit Redaction' to move forward.
As a case now has redacted data, you will see the following on the Issue Details screen:
1. Redacted data will appear blacked out.
2. The Issue Redacted link, when clicked on, will show who performed redactions and which fields were redacted.